Make a wish

I do not have words for the days you survive.  I do not have your faith.  My gift to you is an incomplete thing, built in tribute to someone else who was lost.  Someone told me the story for you and I thought it would help even though it can’t.  There was not time for any birds to sit on the branch or build nests for the next one in line.  There was not time for his big sister to tell him it was dangerous to jump from the tree too soon.  She may never even know, a memory lost before mama was really known.  Stoic, strong mama sitting in the chair, I do not have your faith but I wish I did.  I am afraid to give you this gift.  I will not tell you my name.  I have nothing to give you but the breath that I held and a thank you for hearing his broken heart.  (For SH and her boy.)

Leave a comment